Anime Illustrations.

“A hearts a heavy burden”

“They say the best blaze burns the brightest, when circumstances are at their worst”

These are two of my favourite quotes from Studio Ghibli’s, Howl’s Moving Castle. Not only do I love the story consisting of romance, action and magic but I also love the beautiful illustrations and colours. The style of illustration in this animation is called Anime. Anime is a Japanese hand drawn illustration that is then turned into animation.

If you haven’t seen Howl’s Moving Castle check out the trailer here it’s a must see beautiful movie with some very inspirational quotes.

The Studio Ghibli art and illustrations have inspired me to draw and improve my drawing skills. In my little A6 black book I started to draw some of my favourite characters from various anime. I have used pencils, water colour pencils and a water resistant black ink pen. I’ve used the grid technique to help me loosen up my wrist and to build my confidence.

Here are some of my illustrations from my art journal inspired by the Studio Ghibli animations:

IMG_6098
Howl and Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle
IMG_6101
Totoro and Friends from My Neighbour Totoro
IMG_6100
Totoro and No Face
IMG_6097
Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle
IMG_6103
No face, Sootball and Boh
IMG_6102
Zeniba and No Face from Spirited Away

I really enjoy drawing anime as I like the simplicity in the shapes and I love the movies. although anime is super colourful I really like the intensity that black and white images create hence why some of my illustrations are in black and white.

What are your favourite animations? Can you recommend new anime I should check out?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Thank you for viewing my blog post 🙂

 

 

Please leave your comments here

