SS15 / AW16: THE BOHEMIAN COLLECTION

This has to be one of my favourite collections I have created. I have a huge passion for the bohemian lifestyle. The concept of living a care-free positive lifestyle with a huge passion for travel and exploring the world is very appealing.

Trend Board: I find it key to look at catwalk styles on Vogue.com as a starting point for my research. I looked at various designers whose collection I found inspiring and relatable to my theme. By establishing key shapes, patterns and details I was able to combine this information and develop my SS15 / AW16 collection.

Theme Board: This shows a story about a young woman who has a style of her own and likes to live in the moment. She loves to travel and embraces her spirituality. There’s a strong sense of folklore and aztec patterns in her style embracing bold and intricate patterns and embellishments.

The theme board and trend board is key to my designs, as it the base of creating a womenswear collections that is both in-line with future trends and commercial for the high street.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

COLLECTION – The final collection is in two colour-ways and I have utilised all the colours from my colour palette which is in my mood-board. I always design collections where you can mix and match items, for every top there is a bottom.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

THE FINER DETAIL – When I create any design I like to highlight the details of each garment or product. I use this as a way to explain all the details, prints, stitching fabric etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

GRAPHICS – I really enjoy creating prints and graphics, which is always inspired by my research. For this collection I have designed a range of repeat patterns, embroidery, fabric net patterns and printed graphics. I have utilised my graphics across the range demonstrating the ability to transfer a graphic from embroidery to print.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I throughly enjoyed designing this collection and I was really pleased with final result. It highlights the process of design from initial research of trends and themes right though to the final collection.

If you have any questions on creating graphics or garment shapes in Adobe Illustrator, please let me know and I will try and set up a demonstration.

Check out my other collections here.

Thank you for having a look at my designs I hope you like it just as much as I enjoyed designing it. 🙂

Please leave your comments here

